DOVER DISTRICT COUNCIL COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTION

Date: 1 May 1997

Division		Candidates	Description	Votes Cast	
Deal East		Michael Robert Eddy	The Labour Party Candidate	3675	Elected
Electorate Seats	10937 1	Paul Alexander Watkins	The Conservative Party Candidate	3309	
Ballot Papers % Poll	8642 79.02	Robert James Frost	Liberal Democrat	1504	
Deal West		Terence James Birkett	The Labour Party Candidate	5398	Elected
Electorate Seats	10817 1	Robert Ernest Young	The Conservative Party Candidate	2053	
Ballot Papers % Poll	8766 81.04	William Keith Turner	Liberal Democrat	1218	
Dover Central		William Victor Newman	The Labour Party Candidate	5103	Elected
Electorate Seats	11418 1	James David Francis	The Conservative Party Candidate	2084	
Ballot Papers % Poll	8317 72.84	Anne Gavin	Liberal Democrat	987	
Dover Rural		Reginald Victor Hansell	The Labour Party Candidate	5261	Elected
Electorate Seats	13103 1	Jennifer Catherine Record	The Conservative Party Candidate	3736	
Ballot Papers % Poll	10762 82.13	Janet Bennett	Liberal Democrat	1601	
Dover South		Keith Walter Sansum	The Labour Party Candidate	4535	Elected
Electorate Seats	9798 1	Tony Watson	The Conservative Party Candidate	1730	
Ballot Papers % Poll	7621 77.78	Malcolm Francis Gavin	Liberal Democrat	1244	
Dover West		Bryan Richard Cope	The Conservative Party Candidate	3709	Elected
Electorate Seats	11146 1	Christopher George Osmond	The Labour Party Candidate	3117	
Ballot Papers % Poll	8877 79.64	Ian Keith Parker	Liberal Democrats	1929	
Sandwich		Leyland Bradshaw Ridings	Official Conservative Candidate	4003	Elected
Electorate Seats	12437 1	Norman John Willshaw	Liberal Democrat	2851	
Ballot Papers % Poll	9764 78.51	Eileen Diane Rowbotham	The Labour Party Candidate	2761	