Skip to content

Electoral Boundary Review

Consultation by the LGBCE

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) is carrying out an Electoral Review of the Dover District. On 30 January 2018, the LGBCE started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Dover District Council and on 5 June 2018 it started the second period of consultation in respect of its draft recommendations for a new pattern of wards.
The Commission has announced that it is minded to recommend that Dover district should have 32 councillors from May 2019, thirteen fewer than the current arrangements.
The LGBCE is proposing the following draft recommendations:
Draft Recommendations of the LGBCE
Ward No. Ward Name  No. of Councillors
 1 Aylesham & Eythorne  3
 2 Buckland  2
 3 Capel-le-Ferne and River  2
 4 Dover Downs  1
 5 Eastry Rural   2
 6 Guston and St Margaret's  1
 7  Kingsdown Rural  1
 8  Little Stour and Ashstone  2
 9  Maxton and Elms Vale  1
 10  Middle Deal  2
 11  Mill Hill  2
 12  North Deal  2
 13  Sandwich  2
 14  St Radigunds  2
 15  Tower Hamlets  1
 16  Town and Castle  2
 17  Walmer  2
 18  Whitfield  2
The consultation on draft recommendations has now finished.

The LGBCE launched a consultation on its draft recommendations on Tuesday 5 June 2018. This consultation closed on 13 August 2018. 

Timetable for Electoral Review
 StageDate From  Date To
Consultation on warding arrangements  30 January 2018   9 April 2018
Consultation on draft recommendations  5 June 2018 13 August 2018
Final recommendations published 2 October 2018  
Subject to parliamentary approval - implementation of new arrangements at local elections  2 May 2019  


Further information on the review can be found on LGBCE's website.

All consultation responses should be made to the LGBCE. 

For more information about the electoral review process, please contact Democratic Services at



. Keep Me Posted.