Skip to content

New Look Dover District Council Gets to Work


Members of the new slimmed down Dover District Council met for the first time since the local elections for the Annual Meeting this evening (Friday, 17 May).  Thirty two councillors were elected on 2 May to represent 17 wards across the district.  With 12 new Councillors over a third of the Council were in the Chamber for the first time as members. 

The first job of the Council was to appoint a new Chairman.  Cllr Michael Conolly was duly elected and will chair meetings of full Council and represent the district as civic head of the Council for the next year.  In civic terms, the Chairman of the Council takes precedence over the district’s Town Mayors.  Cllr David Hannent was appointed Vice-Chairman.

Cllr Keith Morris was appointed Leader of the Council.  Cabinet and shadow Cabinet members, and the chairmanship of key Council committees are as set out below:

Leader, Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet
Cabinet Member  Portfolio Shadow Cabinet Member
 Cllr Keith Morris  Leader of the Council  Cllr Kevin Mills (Leader of the Opposition)
 Cllr Sue Chandler  Housing & Health (Deputy Leader)  Cllr Pamela Brivio
 Cllr Michael MJ Holloway  Community & Tourism  Cllr Sue Jones
 Cllr Trevor Bartlett  Environment & Commercial Services  Cllr Edward Biggs
 Cllr Nicholas Kenton  Planning & Regulatory Services  Cllr David Cronk
 Cllr Stephen Manion  Finance & Governance  Cllr Charles Woodgate
 Cllr Nigel Collor  Transport & Licensing  Cllr Sue Beer


Committees of the Council
Committee Chairman 
 Governance  Cllr David Hannent
 Planning  Cllr James Back
 Regulatory  Cllr Derek Murphy
 Scrutiny  Cllr Linda Keen
Posted on 17 May 2019


. Keep Me Posted.