Dover District Council Elects Chairman and Vice Chairman for 2022/23


Dover District Council met for its Annual Meeting last night (18 May) and re-elected Cllr Michael Conolly as Chairman of the Council, and Cllr David Hannent as Vice Chairman. Cllr Conolly is Chairman for the fourth year, and Cllr Hannent is Vice Chairman for the eighth year, the longest serving Vice Chairman in DDC’s history.

The Leader of the Council and the Leader of the Opposition also announced the respective Cabinet and Shadow Cabinets.  This included a realignment of the Social Housing and Port Health Portfolio to include skills and education. Committee appointments and the calendar of meetings for the year ahead were also agreed.

For more information, please see the agenda of the Annual Meeting on the DDC website.


Notes to editors: 

The Leader and Cabinet/Shadow Cabinet of Dover District Council are: 




Shadow Cabinet



T J Bartlett

K Mills


Deputy Leader

O C de R Richardson

P M Brivio


Community and Corporate Property

O C de R Richardson

H M Williams


Finance, Governance, Digital and Climate Change

C A Vinson

S H Beer


Social Housing, Port Health, Skills and Education

D P Murphy

P M Brivio


Planning and Environment

N S Kenton

E A Biggs


Transport, Licensing and Regulatory Services

M Bates

L A Keen


Posted on 19 May 2022